make WWAY your homepage  Become a fan on facebook  Follow us on twitter  Receive RSS Newsfeeds  MEMBERS: Register | Login

Disaster declaration issued for eight more NC counties


RALEIGH, NC (AP) -- President Barack Obama has issued a
disaster declaration for eight more North Carolina counties hit by
last weekend's tornado outbreak.

Gov. Beverly Perdue's office announced Thursday night that
Craven, Currituck, Greene, Hertford, Hoke, Pitt, Robeson and
Sampson counties have been added. It means the way is clear for
residents in those counties to receive federal assistance.

On Tuesday, Obama declared a major disaster for 18 counties
after Perdue asked him and U.S. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack
for help. She is seeking low-interest loans for farmers and grants
to help others repair their homes and businesses.

At least 26 confirmed tornadoes tore across North Carolina,
killing at least 24 people and damaging thousands of buildings.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Disclaimer: Comments posted on this, or any story are opinions of those people posting them, and not the views or opinions of WWAY NewsChannel 3, its management or employees. You can view our comment policy here.