8 Comments for this article

Tags: , , , ,

WILMINGTON, NC (WWAY) — From time spent behind bars to time spent behind the wheel, new laws in 2012 are making sure that every hour counts. Two new laws that go into effect in January mean big changes from some procedures in the state. With one of the two laws, thousands of misdemeanor offenders could serve their time in local jails instead of a state prison if there’s room.

"It is to help alleviate some of the population in DOC, or the Department of Corrections, in North Carolina," New Hanover County Sheriff’s spokesman Sgt. Jerry Brewer said, "to help alleviate some of the overcrowding that they have and also allow those inmates to serve in their own county."

This new law only applies to people charged with misdemeanor offenses with sentences of six months or less. Anyone else is not eligible for the new exemption.

"Any felon, any felony or a misdemeanor, who has been convicted and charged with more than 180 days will have to go to the Department of Corrections," Brewer said.

Time spent behind the wheel is the focus of another law that goes into effect come 2012. New North Carolina drivers will now have to log a minimum of 60 hours before getting their driver’s license. Some of the soon-to-be drivers we talked with say they think the new rule goes too far.

"I think it’s kind of annoying. It’s a little bit too much enforcement, because we need a little more freedom like driving and stuff," 15-year-old Maria Serrano said. "I just think it’s a little bit ridiculous to have to keep a log of driving hours."

The driving log has to be signed by a supervising adult for the hours to count, and ten of the hours must be driven at night. Although some people are not looking to the additional task, others say they think the driving log is just another responsibility that comes along with driving.

"My parents are like, ‘Oh I have to drive you everywhere. Oh, I’m the taxi,’" 15-year-old Madison Steveson said. "It’s going to be a load off their shoulders for me to drive, but it will also be a responsibility that I have to take on, and I like that."

Although the two new laws are seemingly unconnected, it just goes to show that how time is spent matters to the state of North Carolina.

To check out all the new laws that go into effect in the New Year click here.

Comment on this Story

Related News

NCDriverLicense
2 months ago
2 Comments for this article
Thousands mistakenly lose drivers’ licenses in NC
Read More»
Mug: Daniel Corey Benson (Source: New Hanover Co. Jail)
3 months ago
0 Comments for this article
Wilmington man charged for making fake licenses
Read More»
SANTAWRAP
7 months ago
2 Comments for this article
EXTRAORDINARY PEOPLE: The Santa Wrap Song
Read More»