0 Comments for this article

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

ELIZABETOWN, NC (WWAY) — Former Oakland Raiders head coach Art Shell will in Elizabethtown on Thursday to honor East Bladen student athlete Melissa Macon. For more info see the news release below.

ELIZABETHTOWN, NC (news release) — The U.S. Army and the Pro Football Hall of Fame today announced the ten high school athlete finalists for the U.S. Army – Pro Football Hall of Fame – Award for Excellence. The program, announced by Pro Football Hall of Famer Shannon Sharpe at the 2012 U.S. Army All-American Bowl, highlights the achievements of student-athletes across the country.

The program which was open to all United States sophomore and junior level high school athletes focused on not only athletic achievement, but excellence in academics and community engagement.

“Athletes and Army Strong Soldiers possess a unique and similar set of strengths,” said John Myers, Director of Marketing U.S. Army Marketing and Research Group. “We are excited to partner with the Pro Football Hall of Fame and to recognize these outstanding student-athletes; athletes who excel in their area of sport and who also excel academically. The most important attribute is that they are upstanding members of their communities. We look forward to joining with the ten finalists in San Antonio in January and celebrating their achievements.”

The ten finalists for the Award for Excellence will be recognized with a formal ceremony at their school later this fall. Finalists include (in alphabetical order):

Peyton Aldridge, LaBrae High School, Leavittsburg, Ohio

Benjamin Carpenter, C.Leon King High School, Tampa, Florida

Robert Dixon, Big Beaver Falls Area High School, Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania

Nicholas Goldsmith, St. Rita of Cascia High School, Chicago, Illinois

Andrew Henbest, Cassville High School, Cassville, Missouri

Brendon Jonassaint, Okeechobee High School, Okeechobee, Florida

Nathaniel Lowis, Sacred-Heart Griffin High School, Springfield, Illinois

Melissa Macon, East Bladen High School, Elizabethtown, North Carolina

Hunter Morrow, Central High School, Keller, Texas

Alexis Murry, Henry E. Lackey School, Indian Head, Maryland

Each of the 10 finalists will travel to the 2013 U.S. Army All-American Bowl and participate in various activities. The winner of the Award for Excellence will be announced during the Bowl’s formal Awards Dinner on Friday, Jan. 4, 2013.

“The Pro Football Hall of Fame is proud to continue its mission to educate and promote the excellence that comes with America’s favorite game, football, and combine it with the U.S. Army’s mission of excellence in school, community service and through athletics,” said George Veras, President and CEO, Pro Football Hall of Fame Enterprises. “We are excited to recognize these ten student-athletes for their outstanding achievements and hard work.”


High School Scoreboard

Girls Volleyball

Ashley 3
Hoggard 0

Laney 3
New Bern 2

High School Boys Soccer

Ashley 3
Laney 1

New Hanover 5
Hoggard 0


SOUTH BEND, IN (UNCW) -– UNCW senior Thomas Bass carded a one-over-par 72 in the final round to hold off several challengers, including junior teammate Payne McLeod, and capture medalist honors at the Fighting Irish Gridiron Golf Classic on Tuesday at the Warren Golf Club in South Bend. The Seahawks posted their top finish of the fall, tying 38th-ranked Houston for second place.
Michigan State won the team title behind a pair of top-10 finishes from Matthew Moseley (70-71-75=216) and McCormick Clouser (73-72-73=218). Mitch Rutledge (75-68-77=220) finished 21st overall to give the Spartans the title.
For Bass (71-68-72=211), it was his second career championship, having also won the Seahawk Invitational in 2011. Bass tied his career low-tournament score after matching his 211 he carded at the VCU Shootout in the fall of 2011.
Bass’ title was the first for a Seahawk since former standout Josh Brock won the Colonial Athletic Association title in 2011.
While Bass earned the medal, McLeod (75-70-68=213) also finished strong earning his first career top-10 finish after finishing two strokes off the pace and tied with UT Arlington’s Hunter Brown (71-71-71=213). McLeod’s final round 68 was three-under and tied his career-low round.
The Seahawks head to Johnson City, Tennessee, later this week for the Bank of Tennessee Intercollegiate at Blackthorn Club. The tournament runs from Oct. 12 -14.
UNCW Results: Thomas Bass (71-68-72=211); T2. Payne McLeod (75-70-68=213); T28. Ryan Nagy (77-68-77=222); T42. Stefan Brewer (74-74-78=226); T57. Jens Geweke (76-77-78=231)
Team Results: 1. Michigan State (287-282-300=869); 2. UNCW (296280-294=870); 2. #38 Houston (287-292-291=870); 4. San Francisco (292-285-295=872); 5. UT Arlington (288-300-288=876); 6. Minnesota (296-293-291=880); 7. Xavier (295-291-298=884); 8. Notre Dame (300-295-290=885); 9. Toledo (294-298-294=886); 10. Boston College (298-289-302=889); 11. Michigan (297-296-299=892); 12. Gonzaga (302-293-307=902).
Individual Results: 1. Thomas Bass, UNCW (71-68-72=211); T2. Payne McLeod, UNCW (75-70-68=213); Hunter Brown, UTA (71-71-71=213); 4. Chris Selfridge, Toledo (72-72-70=214); T5. Matthew Moseley, MSU (70-71-75=216); Erik Van Rooyen, Minnesota (73-71-72=216); Taylor Travis, USF (72-71-73=216); 8. Noori Hyun, Michigan (73-68-76=217); 9. Six-way tie at 218.


GREENVILLE, NC (UNCW) — The UNCW women’s golf team was awarded second place at the Lady Pirate Intercollegiate after unplayable conditions forced the cancellation of the final round Tuesday.

The two-day, 54-hole event, which was being played at the par-72, 6,004-yard Greenville Country Club, was reduced to an 18-hole tournament after torrential rain Monday afternoon forced the cancellation of the final 36-holes.

Tied at seven-over-par 295 following the opening round, Maryland claimed the team tournament title over UNCW due to the fifth player tie breaker rule. Fellow Colonial Athletic Association member Old Dominion (301) finished third, followed by Elon (302) in fourth. No. 33 Coastal Carolina and Southern Miss finished in a tie for fifth at 303.

Maryland’s Juliet Vongphoumy claimed medalist honors with a 4-under-par 68, two strokes ahead of Boston College’s Cristina McQuiston (70). Junior Lori Beth Adams (71) took third, giving the Abermale, N.C. product her third Top 10 finish of the season. Eight golfers, including freshman Johanna Bjoerk, finished tied for fourth at even par and were named to the all-tournament squad

UNCW closes out the fall portion of its 2012-13 schedule with The Landfall Tradition. The 11th edition of the event will take place Oct. 26-28 on the Country Club of Landfall’s Jack Nickalus Course.

Comment on this Story

Related News

10 hours ago
0 Comments for this article
Charlotte to host 2019 NBA All-Star Game
Read More»
2 days ago
0 Comments for this article
Bryston Davis signs with Guilford College
Read More»
2 days ago
0 Comments for this article
High School state regionals begin tomorrow
Read More»