0 Comments for this article


BRUNSWICK NEW HANOVER COUNTIES, (WWAY) — The North Carolina Ferry Division will transition to regular off-season schedules beginning today, which means a new schedule goes into effect for commuters using the Southport-Fort Fisher Ferry.

The Southport-Fort Fisher route eliminates two of its 16 daily trips, with morning departures from Southport at 5:30, 7, 7:45, 8:30, 9:15, 10:45, and 11:30 a.m. The ferry will depart from Southport in the afternoon at 1, 1:45, 2:30, 3:15, 4, 4:45, and 6:15 p.m.

The ferry will then departure from Fort Fisher in the morning hours at 6:15, 7:45, 8:30, 9:15, 10, and 11:30 p.m., followed by afternoon departures at 12:15, 1:45, 2:30, 3:15, 4, 4:45, 5:30, and 7 p.m.

According to a release, the North Carolina Ferry Division operates 22 boats on seven routes, transporting two million passengers a year to and from work, school, appointments, and vacations.

For more information on the new scheduled routes that go into effect today, visit the ferry division's website at www.ncdot.gov/ferry.

Comment on this Story

Related News