make WWAY your homepage  Become a fan on facebook  Follow us on twitter  Receive RSS Newsfeeds  MEMBERS: Register | Login

New Hanover Co. School Board will have at least one new member


WILMINGTON, NC (WWAY) -- Three of four New Hanover County School Board members facing reelection this year have decided to run again.

Republicans Janice Cavanaugh, Don Hayes and Ed Higgins all filed for reelection. They will be joined in May's Republican primary by Bruce Shell and Jim Brumit.

Incumbent Republican Derrick Hickey is not running again. Instead, he filed for one of two open seats on the New Hanover County Commission.

On the Democratic side Tom Gale, Chris Meek and Emma Saunders await the top three Republican primary vote-getters in November's general election.

Disclaimer: Comments posted on this, or any story are opinions of those people posting them, and not the views or opinions of WWAY NewsChannel 3, its management or employees. You can view our comment policy here.


what have they done

I would like Janice Cavanaugh, Don Hayes,Ed Higgins and Derrick Hickey to explain why the board has chosen to ignore parent and neighborhood complaints and been ineffective in doing anything about the traffic, parking and safety issues around the schools.

Have you personally asked

Have you personally asked them about this? If not, then you need to quit complaining. Personally the school system offers buses for the kids to ride, but it seems every parent in N.H. County chooses to take their kids to school. Ride bus= less traffic.