make WWAY your homepage  Become a fan on facebook  Follow us on twitter  Receive RSS Newsfeeds  MEMBERS: Register | Login

Saffo holds Wilmington mayor's office, Council gets two new faces

READ MORE: Saffo holds Wilmington mayor's office, Council gets two new faces
Wilmington Mayor Bill Saffo won reelection easily Tuesday with a 22-percentage point win over challenger Paul Knight. Saffo will have two new members of City Council around him when the new term starts in January. Wilmington City Council The Wilmington City Council race was crowded with eleven candidates vying for three slots. It appears that two incumbents have been turned out. Former council member Charlie Rivenbark is back on the board with incumbent Earl Sheridan and newcomer Kevin O'Grady. O’Grady edged out incumbent appointee Margaret Haynes by 88 votes. The other incumbent in the race Jim Quinn finished seventh. Carolina Beach Down in Carolina Beach, Mayor Joel Macon ran unopposed. On Carolina Beach Town Council, Bob Lewis and Lonnie Lashley were the top vote getters. Incumbent Alan Gilbert did not manage to hold onto his seat. Kure Beach In Pleasure Island, there was a close race for the Kure Beach mayor seat. Dean Lambeth edged out Jim Vatrt. The Kure Beach Town Council was also a close race. Chuck Keener and Tim Fuller managed to grab the two seats. Wrightsville Beach There was some big news out of Wrightsville Beach. David Cignotti ousted incumbent Stephen Whalen as mayor by an eight percent margin. There were two open slots on the Board of Alderman. From a field of five, Susan Collins and Bill Sisson were the top vote getters, earning those spots on the board. Southport In Southport, Robert Howard defeated incumbent Mayor Sandra Spencer by almost 30 percentage points. In Southport Board of Alderman Ward I, Ken Karn and Mary Ellen Watts Poole won the two slots. In Ward II, Nelson Adams was unopposed. Shallotte Donald Kelly won the mayor’s race in Shallotte, with a victory over John Kinlaw. On the Shallotte Board of Alderman, Jimmy Bellamy and Larry Harrleson came out on top in that race.

Disclaimer: Comments posted on this, or any story are opinions of those people posting them, and not the views or opinions of WWAY NewsChannel 3, its management or employees. You can view our comment policy here.



The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
Please re-enter the code shown in the image below.