make WWAY your homepage  Become a fan on facebook  Follow us on twitter  Receive RSS Newsfeeds  MEMBERS: Register | Login

Pender comes up short in state title football game


5th Quarter co-host Trot Nixon was back in the studio Friday night with WWAY's John Rendleman. Check out the 5th Quarter page on this website in order to check out our highlights from Friday night's 5th Quarter Show.

Sunday's Coach's Corner will have even more coverage from Pender's loss to Albemarle in the 1-AA state title game. The Coach's Corner will air Sunday at 6pm on WWAY.

The following article is courtesy NCHSAA.

CHAPEL HILL -- Quarterback Nat Dunlap threw three touchdown passes and earned the Wendy's Most Valuable Player award as Albemarle downed Pender 21-7 on Friday night in the North Carolina High School Athletic Association state 1-AA football championship at Kenan Stadium.

Dunlap only four passes in 10 attempts but three resulted in touchdowns, including two to Desi Dockery.

On Pender's first possession, the Patriots put together a monster 16-play, 91-yard drive that consumed 7:23 on the clock. Josh Johnson ran for 11 yards for the TD and Kelvin Portillo's PAT made it 7-0 at 2:37 of the first quarter.

After that 91-yard drive, though, the Bulldogs limited Pender to exactly 91 yards in total offense for the rest of the game.

Dunlap found Dillon Taylor for 40 yards and a score with 2:41 left in the first half to tie the score, and then Albemarle limited Pender to three and out and got the ball back after a short punt at the Patriot 38. Dunlap hit Dockery for the 38-yard scoring strike and Cory Dick added the second of his three points after to make it 14-7.

The final tally for the Bulldogs to put the game away came with 6:54 remaining, with Dunlap hitting Dockery in the right flat and then he dove to the pylon to complete the 21-yard scoring play.

Johnson led Pender with 116 yards on the ground in 21 attempts. Demetrius Hamilton was Albemarle's top rusher with 36 yards in 16 tries.

Albemarle finished the season 12-4 and won its fifth NCHSAA state championship since 2001. Pender, in the finals for the first time, ended at 12-3.

Post-game awards: Pender, Outstanding Offensive Player RB Josh Johnson; Outstanding Defensive Player DB Javon Powell; Albemarle--Outstanding Offensive Player SE Desi Dockery; Outstanding Defensive Player LB Freddie Parker; Wendy's MVP, Albemarle QB Nat Dunlap.

Disclaimer: Comments posted on this, or any story are opinions of those people posting them, and not the views or opinions of WWAY NewsChannel 3, its management or employees. You can view our comment policy here.



The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
Please re-enter the code shown in the image below.