make WWAY your homepage  Become a fan on facebook  Follow us on twitter  Receive RSS Newsfeeds  MEMBERS: Register | Login

John Boehner elected Speaker; McIntyre votes for Shuler



The House completed its vote, electing John Boehner the 61st Speaker of the House 241-192.

The most interesting aspect of the vote was the defections from Nancy Pelosi, who garnered 173 votes:

-11 Democrats voted for Heath Shuler, a North Carolina Democrat and former Washington Redskin who has said he would challenge Pelosi in a vote to protest the 63 seats lost under he watch. Most of the votes represented the survivors of the decimated Blue Dog Coalition. Jason Altmire (PA-04), Dan Boren (OK-02), Jim Cooper (TN-05), Joe Donnelly (IN-02), Tim Holden (PA-17), Larry Kissell (NC-08), Mike McIntyre (NC-07), Jim Matheson (UT-02), Michaek Michaud (ME-02), Mike Ross (AR-04) and Heath Shuler (NC-11).

-Two Dems voted for civil rights giant Rep. John Lewis, a Georgia Democrat. John Barrow (GA-12) and Gabby Giffords (AZ-08).

-Jim Costa (CA-20) voted for Dennis Cardoza, Cardoza (CA-18) voted for Jim Costa.

-Ron Kind (WI-03) voted for Jim Cooper (TN-05)

-Dan Lipinski (IL-03) voted for Marcy Kaptur (OH-09)

-Kurt Schrader (Or-05) voted for Steny Hoyer (MD-05)

-Sanford Bishop (GA-02) voted present

-And Pete DeFazio (OR-04), a noted Pelosi critic, didn't vote at all.

So, 20 Democrats either didn't vote for Pelosi or voted for someone else. That's just over 10% of her 193-member caucus. The Republicans have 242 seats -- Boehner, as is tradition, did not vote.

Read more:

Disclaimer: Comments posted on this, or any story are opinions of those people posting them, and not the views or opinions of WWAY NewsChannel 3, its management or employees. You can view our comment policy here.



The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
Please re-enter the code shown in the image below.