Submitted by Cacky Catlett on Thu, 04/21/2011 - 9:48pm.

RALEIGH, NC (AP) -- President Barack Obama has issued a disaster declaration for eight more North Carolina counties hit by last weekend's tornado outbreak. Gov. Beverly Perdue's office announced Thursday night that Craven, Currituck, Greene, Hertford, Hoke, Pitt, Robeson and Sampson counties have been added. It means the way is clear for residents in those counties to receive federal assistance. On Tuesday, Obama declared a major disaster for 18 counties after Perdue asked him and U.S. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack for help. She is seeking low-interest loans for farmers and grants to help others repair their homes and businesses. At least 26 confirmed tornadoes tore across North Carolina, killing at least 24 people and damaging thousands of buildings. (Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Full Story »
The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
Please re-enter the code shown in the image below.