WilmingtonHammerheads.jpg Submitted by John Rendleman on Wed, 08/31/2011 - 1:24pm.

TAMPA, FL (news release) – USL PRO has announced the finalists for its 2011 awards honoring the Most Valuable Player, Rookie of the Year, Defender of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year and Coach of the Year from the 2011 season. The winners will be announced at Friday’s awards ceremony prior to the 2011 USL PRO Championship Game in Orlando, Florida. Orlando City, which will face the Harrisburg City Islanders in Saturday night’s USL PRO Championship Game (7 p.m. ET, FOX Soccer), has four individuals named to the list of finalists. The Wilmington Hammerheads have three finalists competing for awards, while the Richmond Kickers and F.C. New York each have two. The Charleston Battery, Charlotte Eagles and Rochester Rhinos have one finalist each. Votes for the USL PRO honors are submitted by USL PRO team management, and finalists are determined based on total All-League votes. 2011 USL PRO Award Finalists Most Valuable Player Yordany Alvarez, Orlando City Jhonny Arteaga, F.C. New York Luke Mulholland, Wilmington Hammerheads Rookie of the Year Seedy Bah, Charleston Battery Luke Mulholland, Wilmington Hammerheads Tadeu Terra, F.C. New York Goalkeeper of the Year Miguel Gallardo, Orlando City Neal Kitson, Rochester Rhinos Eric Reed, Charlotte Eagles Coach of the Year Leigh Cowlishaw, Richmond Kickers Adrian Heath, Orlando City David Irving, Wilmington Hammerheads Defender of the Year Gareth Evans, Wilmington Hammerheads Rob Valentino, Orlando City William Yomby, Richmond Kickers TAMPA,FL (USL news release) -– USL PRO honored the top performers from an exciting and successful 2011 regular season today, naming the All-League First and Second Teams as chosen through a vote of team management. USL PRO regular season champion Orlando City leads the way with four players selected to the First Team and a total of six players honored. The Lions, who will host Saturday’s USL PRO Championship against the Harrisburg City Islanders (7 p.m. ET, FOX Soccer), are represented at every position on the First Team after the selections of striker Maxwell Griffin, midfielder Yordany Alvarez, defender Rob Valentino and goalkeeper Miguel Gallardo. Wilmington Hammerheads defender Gareth Evans is making his second consecutive appearance on the First Team, while Richmond Kickers defensive leader William Yomby and Richmond striker Matt Delicâte are honored for the third consecutive season. Remarkably, Charlotte Eagles set-up man Jorge Herrera is on the First Team for the fourth consecutive season after finishing second in the league in assists. League scoring leader Jhonny Arteaga of F.C. New York was a natural choice for one of the three forward spots after tallying 13 goals and 27 points in 21 games. Rounding out the USL PRO All-League First Team is former MLS defender Nelson Akwari of the Los Angeles Blues and rookie midfield standout Luke Mulholland of Wilmington, who finished tied for second in points. The finalists for Coach of the Year, Defender of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Most Valuable Player will be announced on Wednesday, August 31, with the awards being presented at the USL PRO Championship Media Luncheon on Friday, September 2 in Orlando. 2011 USL PRO All-League First Team GK – Miguel Gallardo, Orlando City D – Nelson Akwari, Los Angeles Blues D – Gareth Evans, Wilmington Hammerheads D – Rob Valentino, Orlando City D – William Yomby, Richmond Kickers MF – Yordany Alvarez, Orlando City MF – Jorge Herrera, Charlotte Eagles MF – Luke Mulholland, Wilmington Hammerheads F – Jhonny Arteaga, F.C. New York F – Matt Delicâte, Richmond Kickers F – Maxwell Griffin, Orlando City 2011 USL PRO All-League Second Team GK – Neal Kitson, Rochester Rhinos D – George Dublin, Antigua Barracuda D – Colin Falvey, Charleston Battery D – Kyle Hoffer, F.C. New York D – Troy Roberts, Rochester Rhinos MF – Lewis Neal, Orlando City MF – Lawson Robinson, Antigua Barracuda MF – Jamie Watson, Orlando City F – Jose Angulo, Harrisburg City Islanders F – George Davis IV, Dayton Dutch Lions F – Jason Yeisley, Pittsburgh Riverhounds

Full Story »
The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
Please re-enter the code shown in the image below.