make WWAY your homepage  Become a fan on facebook  Follow us on twitter  Receive RSS Newsfeeds  MEMBERS: Register | Login

Bill on reporting missing child OK'd in NC House

READ MORE:

RALEIGH, N.C. (AP) - North Carolina legislators are seeking passage of a law making it a felony when parents knowingly fail to report to police their child has been missing for at least 24 hours.

The House gave unanimous approval Thursday to the bill that also would create a misdemeanor if any other person reasonably suspects a child may be in danger but fails to talk to law enforcement within a reasonable time.

The bill is named "Caylee's Law," referring to Florida toddler Caylee Anthony, who wasn't reported missing until 31 days after she vanished in 2008 and had died. Caylee's mother was acquitted of murder but convicted of lying to investigators.

Parents without a previous criminal history wouldn't receive active prison time on a first offense.

The bill now goes to the Senate.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Disclaimer: Comments posted on this, or any story are opinions of those people posting them, and not the views or opinions of WWAY NewsChannel 3, its management or employees. You can view our comment policy here.

»

Reply

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
CAPTCHA
Please re-enter the code shown in the image below.