make WWAY your homepage  Become a fan on facebook  Follow us on twitter  Receive RSS Newsfeeds  MEMBERS: Register | Login

Pemberton leaves DEI; Richert to take his place

Story body

CHARLOTTE (AP) -- Crew chief Ryan Pemberton has left Dale Earnhardt Inc., and the team says Doug Richert will replace him beginning today. Pemberton was scheduled to lead the No. 8 Chevrolet that will be co-driven next season by Mark Martin and Aric Almirola. Pemberton spent eight seasons with MB2 Motorsports, which was bought by Bobby Ginn before last season. Ginn then sold the team to DEI, and Pemberton continued with the organization after the acquisition. Richert became the youngest crew chief to win a Cup championship when he did so as a 20-year-old with the late Dale Earnhardt in 1980. He spent most of last season with Brian Vickers at startup Red Bull Racing, but was let go late in the year.


The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
Please re-enter the code shown in the image below.