make WWAY your homepage  Become a fan on facebook  Follow us on twitter  Receive RSS Newsfeeds  MEMBERS: Register | Login

Four soldiers to get Distinguished Flying Cross for Iraq action

FORT BRAGG -- The 82nd Airborne Division commander will present the Distinguished Flying Cross award to four soldiers who are crewmen of the OH-58D Kiowa helicopters used by the division's aviation brigade. The military says Maj. Gen. David Rodriguez will present the awards Thursday afternoon at the division's Hall of Heroes. The division said the soldiers braved enemy fire to repel an attack after their helicopter sustained heavy damage on April 15, 2007. Awards will be given to pilots Capt. Tonti Boikanyo, Chief Warrant Officer Michael Zanders, Chief Warrant Officer Jason Anderson and Chief Warrant Officer Byron Means. (Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Disclaimer: Comments posted on this, or any story are opinions of those people posting them, and not the views or opinions of WWAY NewsChannel 3, its management or employees. You can view our comment policy here.