USL PRO Awards Finalists Announced


TAMPA, FL (news release) – USL PRO has announced the finalists for its 2011 awards honoring the Most Valuable Player, Rookie of the Year, Defender of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year and Coach of the Year from the 2011 season. The winners will be announced at Friday’s awards ceremony prior to the 2011 USL PRO Championship Game in Orlando, Florida.

Orlando City, which will face the Harrisburg City Islanders in Saturday night’s USL PRO Championship Game (7 p.m. ET, FOX Soccer), has four individuals named to the list of finalists. The Wilmington Hammerheads have three finalists competing for awards, while the Richmond Kickers and F.C. New York each have two.

- Advertisement -

The Charleston Battery, Charlotte Eagles and Rochester Rhinos have one finalist each.

Votes for the USL PRO honors are submitted by USL PRO team management, and finalists are determined based on total All-League votes.

2011 USL PRO Award Finalists

Most Valuable Player

Yordany Alvarez, Orlando City

Jhonny Arteaga, F.C. New York

Luke Mulholland, Wilmington Hammerheads

Rookie of the Year

Seedy Bah, Charleston Battery

Luke Mulholland, Wilmington Hammerheads

Tadeu Terra, F.C. New York

Goalkeeper of the Year

Miguel Gallardo, Orlando City

Neal Kitson, Rochester Rhinos

Eric Reed, Charlotte Eagles

Coach of the Year

Leigh Cowlishaw, Richmond Kickers

Adrian Heath, Orlando City

David Irving, Wilmington Hammerheads

Defender of the Year

Gareth Evans, Wilmington Hammerheads

Rob Valentino, Orlando City

William Yomby, Richmond Kickers

TAMPA,FL (USL news release) -– USL PRO honored the top performers from an exciting and successful 2011 regular season today, naming the All-League First and Second Teams as chosen through a vote of team management.

USL PRO regular season champion Orlando City leads the way with four players selected to the First Team and a total of six players honored. The Lions, who will host Saturday’s USL PRO Championship against the Harrisburg City Islanders (7 p.m. ET, FOX Soccer), are represented at every position on the First Team after the selections of striker Maxwell Griffin, midfielder Yordany Alvarez, defender Rob Valentino and goalkeeper Miguel Gallardo.

Wilmington Hammerheads defender Gareth Evans is making his second consecutive appearance on the First Team, while Richmond Kickers defensive leader William Yomby and Richmond striker Matt Delicâte are honored for the third consecutive season. Remarkably, Charlotte Eagles set-up man Jorge Herrera is on the First Team for the fourth consecutive season after finishing second in the league in assists.

League scoring leader Jhonny Arteaga of F.C. New York was a natural choice for one of the three forward spots after tallying 13 goals and 27 points in 21 games. Rounding out the USL PRO All-League First Team is former MLS defender Nelson Akwari of the Los Angeles Blues and rookie midfield standout Luke Mulholland of Wilmington, who finished tied for second in points.

The finalists for Coach of the Year, Defender of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Most Valuable Player will be announced on Wednesday, August 31, with the awards being presented at the USL PRO Championship Media Luncheon on Friday, September 2 in Orlando.

2011 USL PRO All-League First Team

GK – Miguel Gallardo, Orlando City

D – Nelson Akwari, Los Angeles Blues

D – Gareth Evans, Wilmington Hammerheads

D – Rob Valentino, Orlando City

D – William Yomby, Richmond Kickers

MF – Yordany Alvarez, Orlando City

MF – Jorge Herrera, Charlotte Eagles

MF – Luke Mulholland, Wilmington Hammerheads

F – Jhonny Arteaga, F.C. New York

F – Matt Delicâte, Richmond Kickers

F – Maxwell Griffin, Orlando City

2011 USL PRO All-League Second Team

GK – Neal Kitson, Rochester Rhinos

D – George Dublin, Antigua Barracuda

D – Colin Falvey, Charleston Battery

D – Kyle Hoffer, F.C. New York

D – Troy Roberts, Rochester Rhinos

MF – Lewis Neal, Orlando City

MF – Lawson Robinson, Antigua Barracuda

MF – Jamie Watson, Orlando City

F – Jose Angulo, Harrisburg City Islanders

F – George Davis IV, Dayton Dutch Lions

F – Jason Yeisley, Pittsburgh Riverhounds