Landfall Tradition tees off today


WILMINGTON,NC (UNCW news release) — Six of the nation’s top 25 collegiate women’s golf programs headline a strong field that is poised to compete in the 10th Annual Landfall Tradition at the Country Club of Landfall’s Jack Nicklaus course this weekend.

Top-five programs Auburn (No. 3) and UNC Chapel Hill (No. 4) highlight the 18-team field that will take aim at the Par 72, 6,208 yard layout of the Jack Nicklaus course, which is playing host to the event for the sixth time overall and the first time in three years after the Tradition was held the previous two years on the club’s Pete Dye layout.

- Advertisement -

The 54-hole, five-count-four event will feature three days of single-round action, with play scheduled to begin daily at 8:30 a.m. Players will tee off in three-player waves from holes No.1 and No. 10 on Friday and Saturday before a shotgun start will mark the start of action for Sunday’s final round.

Live stats will be available for all three rounds and can be accessed by clicking on the link at the top of the page.

UNCW will once again play host to a deep tournament field . The Seahawks, Tigers and Tar Heels will be joined by top 25 programs Duke (No. 12), North Carolina State (No. 16) Virginia (No. 23) and Ohio State (No. 25). Also in the field this weekend are Chattanooga, Florida State, Iowa State, Michigan State, Notre Dame, Northwestern, Ole Miss, Purdue, South Carolina, Tulane and Wake Forest.

Since its inception in 2002, the Landfall Tradition has hosted 81 men’s and women’s college programs from 62 schools and 14 conferences. Iowa State and Mississippi are making their Landfall Tradition debuts this weekend, while Wake Forest is making its eighth appearance, the most of any visiting school. Purdue is also making its first visit back to the Country Club of Landfall since winning the 2010 NCAA Championship on the Dye Course 17 months ago.

Individually, the 2011 edition of the Tradition will feature three players – Duke’s Lindy Duncan (No. 2) and Auburn’s Carlie Yadloczky (No. 5) and senior Marta Sanz (No. 7) – ranked among the top 10 players nationally. Four other players, including 2010 Tradition individual co-medalist Brittany Altamore (No. 17) and all-tournament selection Casey Grice of UNC Chapel Hill (No. 11), are ranked in the top 25.

In the nine years of the tournament, 1,110 players from 29 different states and several foreign countries have competed for the title.