Laney & Lumberton in same conference? Trask & South Robeson? Topsail & Terry Sanford?


WILMINGTON,NC (WWAY) — The associate commissioner of the North Carolina High School Athletic Association is a busy man this week. He’s having to field loads of emails and phone calls from athletic directors about future re-alignment. Rick Strunk sent WWAY the following email on Wednesday.

“We sent the initial draft of realignment to the schools today. It’s just a computer generated initial draft for discussion, with some meetings scheduled in January for discussion. SAS, the software company in Cary, developed the models based on the parameters we provided; six to eight schools in a conference, clustered geographically (they used a complicated mathematical formula) and then no split conferences in the initial draft.” Rick Strunk (NCHSAA)

- Advertisement -

Here are the new preliminary conference realignment models for schools in SE NC that could go into effect starting in the 2013-2014 high school athletic season.


Conference 15: Ashley, Hoggard, Laney, Lumberton, New Hanover, Purnell Swett.


Conference 14: Gray’s Creek, Terry Sanford, South Brunswick, Topsail, West Brunswick, Westover.


Conference 13: East Bladen, Fairmont, North Brunswick, Red Springs, South Columbus, St. Pauls, West Bladen.

Conference 14: Clinton, Croatan, Dixon, East Duplin, Northside, Southwest Onslow.


Conference 12: Hobbton, Neuse Charter, North Duplin, Princeton, Rosewood, Spring Creek.

Conference 13: Jones Senior, James Kenan, Lakewood, Lejeune, Union, Wallace-Rose Hill.

Conference 14: East Columbus, Pender, South Robeson, Trask, West Columbus, Whiteville.

Click below for a full list of possible conference re-alignments based on the computer model.