0 Comments for this article

Tags: , , ,

WILMINGTON,NC (UNCW sports release) — The UNCW women’s basketball team will make its second straight postseason appearance as it accepted an at-large invitation to the Postseason Women’s National Invitation Tournament on Monday.

The Seahawks open the 64-team event Thursday with a home contest against in-state rival and Southern Conference member Appalachian State. Game time and ticket information will be announced once they become available. Click here for the full bracket. https://admin.xosn.com/pdf8/832558.pdf?SPSID=104530&SPID=12825&DB_LANG=C&DB_OEM_ID=21500&KEY=HQVQPMANSXFHVGX.20120313035202

The Seahawks were one of five Colonial Athletic Association teams that will participate in the Postseason WNIT. Drexel travels to Fairfield and VCU heads to Bowling Green Wednesday while Hofstra hosts Harvard and James Madison entertains Davidson on Thursday.

“We are excited to accept an at-large invitation to the postseason WNIT,” said UNCW Head Coach Cynthia Cooper-Dyke. “The girls have worked extremely hard all season to achieve this goal and to earn an invitation to a postseason tournament is a tremendous honor and accomplishment. We look forward to the challenge of competing for the Postseason WNIT title, beginning with our contest Thursday at home against Appalachian State.”

UNCW enters postseason play with a 20-12 overall record following its loss to eventual champion Delaware in the semifinals of the 2011 Virginia 529 College Savings Plan Colonial Athletic Association Women’s Basketball Championship on Saturday. Sophomore Alisha Andrews, who leads the team in scoring (12.2), assists (4.8) and steals (2.7), was a Second-Team All-CAA and All-Defensive team selection while classmate Abria Trice was an All-Tournament Team honoree at the CAA Championship last weekend.

Appalachian State begins the postseason with a 25-6 mark after falling in the Southern Conference Championship to Samford on March 5. The Mountaineers are led by junior Anna Freeman, the SoCon Player-of-the-Year, who led the league in scoring (15.1), free-throw percentage (.875) and steals (3.6) while also ranking second on the circuit in blocks (2.1).

In its 15th season, the Postseason Women’s National Invitation Tournament began as a 16-team event in 1998 and expanded to its current 64-team format in 2010. The tournament is a single-elimination event with all games played at sites of host schools. Past winners of the event include California, Ohio State, Penn State and Wisconsin.


Comment on this Story

Related News