0 Comments for this article

Tags: , ,

RALEIGH, NC (AP) – New Hanover’s Kadeem Allen, Raleigh Upper Room’s Rodney Purvis and Morrisville Green Hope’s Kristen Gaffney headline the 2011-12 Associated Press all-state prep basketball teams for North Carolina.

Allen and Purvis each earned 20 of a possible 22 votes from sports writers across the state to lead the 13-player men’s squad in results released Thursday. Gaffney earned 21 votes to lead the 13-player women’s squad.

Allen, a 6-foot-3 senior, is undecided on his college choice. Purvis, a 6-4 senior, is a McDonald’s All-American who has signed with North Carolina State.

Gaffney is a 6-foot forward who signed with Vanderbilt. She made the all-state team for the third straight season.

West Craven had multiple picks with junior Josh Cuthbertson on the men’s team and sophomore Jamie Cherry on the women’s team.
The 2011-12 Associated Press all-state prep basketball teams for North Carolina, as selected by 22 sports writers across the state in results released Thursday. With school, position, class and number of votes in parentheses:


Kadeem Allen, New Hanover, G, Sr. (20)

Rodney Purvis, Raleigh Upper Room, G, Sr. (20)

Kennedy Meeks, West Charlotte, C, Jr. (17)

Denzel Ingram, Chapel Hill, G, Sr. (17)

Allerik Freeman, Charlotte Olympic, G, Jr. (15)

Greg McClinton, Winston-Salem Prep, F, Jr. (15)

Josh Cuthbertson, West Craven, G/F, Jr. (14)

Isaiah Hicks, Oxford Webb, F, Jr. (14)

Braxton Ogbueze, Charlotte United Faith, G, Sr. (13)

Tyrone Outlaw Jr., Roxboro Person, F, Jr. (11)

Justin Cousin, Graham, G, Sr. (8)

Nate Jones, Davie County, G, Sr. (8)

Anton Gill, Raleigh Ravenscroft, G, Jr. (8)


Kristen Gaffney, Morrisville Green Hope, F, Sr. (21)

Madi Story, Catawba Bandys, G, So. (19)

Jamie Cherry, West Craven, G, So. (18)

Lindsay Simpson, Franklin, G, Sr. (18)

Tiffany Mitchell, Charlotte Providence Day, G, Sr. (17)

Brielle Blaire, Salisbury, F, So. (16)

Rajsha Blackmon, Charlotte Kennedy Charter, G/F, Jr. (15)

Briana Day, Raleigh Millbrook, C, Jr. (15)

J’Kyra Brown, Rocky Mount, G, Jr. (13)

Dana Brown, Raleigh Enloe, G, Sr. (10)

Sidney Cook, Hope Mills South View, G/F, Sr. (10)

Zena Lovette, Southwest Guilford, G, Sr. (10)

Paris Kea, Greensboro Page, G, So. (10)

(Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Comment on this Story

Related News