Kirk Angel named AP coach of the year for NC


RALEIGH,NC (WWAY) – Two men who won their first state championships as head coaches are the Associated Press prep basketball coaches of the year for North Carolina.

Kirk Angel of New Hanover won the men’s award Friday and Anthony Jones of Charlotte Harding earned the women’s award.

- Advertisement -

Both coaches won by one-vote margins after sports writers across the state cast ballots. Angel received eight of a possible 22 votes, while Kinston’s Wells Gulledge received seven. Jones had eight of 22 votes, while Brian Robinson of Kernersville McGuinness received seven.

Angel led New Hanover to a 30-1 record and the Class 4-A championship.

Jones’ award and championship came in his second year at Harding. He led the school to its first state championship for men or women.
RALEIGH, N.C. (AP) – The voting breakdown for the 2011-12 Associated Press prep basketball coaches of the year for North Carolina, as cast by 22 statewide sports writers.
Kirk Angel, New Hanover(8)
Wells Gulledge, Kinston (7)
Mike Helms, Waxhaw Cuthbertson (3)
Butch Blalock, Gastonia Highland Tech (2)
Shawn Johnson, Hickory (1)
Baronton Terry, West Charlotte (1)
Anthony Helms, Charlotte Harding (8)
Brian Robinson, Kernersville McGuinness (7)
Matt Taylor, Alexander Central (3)
Barbara Helms, Hickory (2)
Beth Queen, Catawba Bandys (2)

(Copyright 2012 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)
RALEIGH, N.C. (AP) – Winners of The Associated Press prep basketball coach of the year award for North Carolina:
2012-Kirk Angel, New Hanover
2011-Ron Bray, Gastonia Huss
2010-Brandon Jolly, Lake Norman
2009-Aubrey Hollifield, Shelby
2008-Wells Gulledge, Kinston
2007-George Robinson, Burlington Cummings
2006-David Price, Greensboro Dudley
2005-Jimmy Cleaveland, Canton Pisgah
2004-Tim Kelly, Trinity
2003-Mike Gurley, West Rowan
2002-Mike Gurley, West Rowan
2001-Don Corry, Lexington
2000-Howard West, Winston-Salem Reynolds
1999-Mike Pennington, Winston-Salem Parkland
1998-Terry Rogers, Morganton Freedom
1997-Ray Hartsfield, East Chapel Hill
1996-Greg Grantham, Jacksonville White Oak
1995-Bill Boyette, Cary
2012-Anthony Jones, Charlotte Harding
2011-Jessica Bryan, Southwest Guilford
2010-Brian Robinson, Kernersville McGuinness
2009-Terry Allmon, East Davidson
2008-Angela Morton, Concord
2007-Brent Barker, Hope Mills South View
2006-Debra Pegram, Wilson Beddingfield
2005-Sandra Langley, SouthWest Edgecombe
2004-Jennifer Shoaf, Salisbury
2003-Tracie Taylor, Fayetteville 71st
2002-Jamie Smith, Morganton Freedom
2001-Gerald Carter, Winston-Salem Carver; Kenny Carter, High
Point Central (tie)
2000-Gerald Carter, Winston-Salem Carver
1999-David Elder, Hickory
1998-Julie Hunter, Clinton Union
1997-Kenny Carter, High Point Central
1996-Sandra Langley, SouthWest Edgecombe
1995-Marsha Crump, Morganton Freedom

(Copyright 2012 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)