0 Comments for this article

Tags: , ,

RALEIGH,NC (AP) — Two Raleigh-area players are this year’s Associated Press prep basketball players of the year for North Carolina.

Raleigh Upper Room’s Rodney Purvis is the men’s player of the year, while Cary Green Hope’s Kristen Gaffney is the women’s player of the year.

Purvis earned 17 of a possible 22 votes from sports writers across the state in results released Saturday. New Hanover’s Kadeem Allen had the other votes after leading his team to a state championship. Purvis is a McDonald’s All-American who has signed with North Carolina State.

On the women’s side, Gaffney earned 12 votes. Charlotte Providence Day’s Tiffany Mitchell was second with eight votes.

Gaffney has signed with Vanderbilt, but she is recovering from reconstructive surgery on her left knee after being hurt in the state playoffs.

(Copyright 2012 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)
By The Associated Press
The voting breakdown for the 2011-12 Associated Press prep basketball players of the year for North Carolina, as cast by 22 statewide sports writers.
Rodney Purvis, Raleigh Upper Room (17)
Kadeem Allen, New Hanover (5)
Kristen Gaffney, Cary Green Hope (12)
Tiffany Mitchell, Charlotte Providence Day (8)
Madi Story, Catawba Bandys (2)

(Copyright 2012 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Past AP player of the year winners in NC
By The Associated Press
Winners of The Associated Press prep basketball player of the year award for North Carolina:
2012-Rodney Purvis, Raleigh Upper Room
2011-Terry Whisnant, Cherryville
2010-Reggie Bullock, Kinston
2009-John Wall, Raleigh Word of God
2008-Bo Ingram, Kinston; Ty Walker, New Hanover (tie)
2007-Dwight Jones, Burlington Cummings
2006-William Graves, Greensboro Dudley
2005-Jamie Skeen, North Mecklenburg
2004-Josh King, Trinity
2003-Chris Paul, West Forsyth
2002-Shavlik Randolph, Raleigh Broughton
2001-Shavlik Randolph, Raleigh Broughton
2000-Scooter Sherrill, West Rowan
1999-Jason Parker, West Charlotte
1998-Shawn Alexander, Asheville Roberson; Jason Parker, West
Charlotte (tie)
1997-Tracy McGrady, Durham Mt. Zion
1996-Vincent Whitt, Greensboro Dudley
1995-Courtney Alexander, Durham Jordan
2012-Kristen Gaffney, Morrisville Green Hope
2011-Cierra Burdick, Matthews Butler
2010-Cierra Burdick, Matthews Butler; Shannon Smith, Gastonia
Forestview (tie)
2009-Christal Caldwell, West Charlotte
2008-Erinn Thompson, Kernersville McGuinness
2007-Cetera DeGraffenreid, Sylva Smoky Mountain
2006-Joy Cheek, South Mecklenburg
2005-Rashanda McCants, Asheville
2004-LaToya Pringle, Fayetteville 71st
2003-Camille Little, Winston-Salem Carver
2002-Kerri Gardin, Morganton Freedom
2001-Camille Little, Winston-Salem Carver; Billie McDowell,
Lumberton (tie)
2000-Chrystal Baptist, Charlotte Christian
1999-Amy Simpson, Eden Morehead
1998-Amy Simpson, Eden Morehead
1997-Tynesha Lewis, SouthWest Edgecombe
1996-Shea Ralph, Fayetteville Sanford
1995-Natasha Davis, Morganton Freedom

(Copyright 2012 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)


Comment on this Story

Related News