0 Comments for this article

Tags: , , , ,

RALEIGH, NC (WWAY) — Gov. Pat McCrory announced the appointments to a Task Force on Safer Schools today.

The group ranges from students and teachers to elected officials, lawyers and law enforcement from across North Carolina, including James MacCallum who will serve as vice chairman of the board.

He is the Brunswick County clerk of superior court. Previously, he ran his own law firm, the Law Office of James J. MacCallum.

He was recognized as the Brunswick County Chamber of Commerce Citizen of the Year in 2010 and was the past chairman of the Board of Communities in Schools.

Here is a list of all the board members:

Secretary Frank Perry (Wake County) Perry is the secretary of the Department of Public Safety. Previously, he was the commissioner of the Division of Law Enforcement where he oversaw the operations of Emergency Management, State Highway Patrol, Alcohol Law Enforcement and State Capitol Police. Perry is an extension assistant professor at North Carolina State University in the School of Public and International Affairs. He also served 22 years with the Federal Bureau of Investigation as a special agent and senior manager retiring as head of the Raleigh/Durham FBI Office. He attended Wake Forest University and the University of Miami.

Rob Kindsvatter (Wake County) Kindsvatter is the director of the North Carolina Division of Child Development and Early Education. He also serves as North Carolina’s state administrator for the Federal Child Care and Development Fund, and he works with North Carolina’s early childhood system partners. He holds B.A. degrees in economics and business administration.

Buddy Collins (Forsyth County) – Collins is an attorney at A.L. Collins Attorney at Law. He is a Metro Board member and member of the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Board of Education and the North Carolina State Board of Education. He is the past president of the Kernersville Chamber of Commerce. Collins attended North Carolina State University and Campbell Law School.

Chip Hughes (Craven County) – Hughes will serve as the chairman of the Board. He is the director of sales at Digital Safety Technologies. Hughes served for three years in the U.S. Air Force, and he was employed with the North Carolina Highway Patrol for 14 years. He attended the University of Maryland.

Mary Jane Ferguson (Jackson County) – Ferguson recently retired as the director of marketing & promotions for the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians. She is a member of the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians. She taught public school in the Jackson County school system and has served as a school board member for Cherokee Schools. Ferguson attended Western Carolina University and received her master’s degree in education.

Donna White (Johnston County) – White is a registered nurse with the Department of Health and Human Services. She has served as the president and on the board of directors for the Johnston County Nurse Association. She is completing her second term on the Johnston County Board of Education. White attended Watts Hospital School of Nursing.

Sheriff Robert L. Holland (Macon County) – Sheriff Holland is serving his second term as Macon County’s sheriff. He served in the following positions before being elected as sheriff: detention officer, deputy sheriff, investigator and detective sgt. and supervisor of the sheriff’s office juvenile unit. He attended Southwestern Community College.

Deputy Sheriff M’bechi “Ty” Davis (Halifax County) – Davis is the general deputy sheriff of Halifax County. Previously, he was a narcotics investigator and detective sergeant in investigations. He attended North Carolina Central School of Law, Kaplan University, Wilson Technical Community College and ECPI College of Technology.

Dale Cole (Beaufort County) – Cole is the principal of Southside High School. He was named the 2013 Wells Fargo NC Principal of the Year of Chocowinity Middle School. During his teaching career he has served as a high school English teacher and football and baseball coach, a high school assistant principal and middle school principal. Cole received a bachelor of science in English from East Carolina University and a master’s degree in school administration from East Carolina University.

Wendy Jordan (Richmond County) – Jordan is the principal of Mineral Springs Elementary School and she received the Wells Fargo Principal of the Year for Region IV – Sandhills/South Central region. She attended Appalachian State University and East Carolina University where she received her Ph.D in education.

Chadwick Rorie (Mecklenburg County) – Rorie is an automotive instructor at Providence High School and the lead automotive instructor for Charlotte Mecklenburg Schools. He is MATES Certified and ASE Masters Certified. He attended NC A&T University.

Greta Metcalf (Jackson County) – Metcalf is the chief operating officer at Jackson and Haywood County Psychological Services. Previously, she was the care manager and outpatient counselor at Smoky Mountain Center. She received a B.A. in counseling psychology from East Carolina University and a master’s degree in community counseling from Lynchburg College.

Officer Joe Pass (Guilford County) – Pass is the public school resource officer for Northwest Guilford High School. Previously, Pass worked as a detective in the Guilford County Sheriff’s Office. He served in the US Army after high school and then received an associate’s degree from ECPI College of Technology.

Luke Stancil (Johnston County) – Stancil is an 11th grade student at Corinth Holders High School in Wendell, NC. He is the vice president of the student body and chairman of the Education Committee in the NC Youth Legislature.

Jan Smoot (Rowan County) – Smoot is the sales coordinator and head supervisor at the Courtyard Marriott in Salisbury, NC. She received her B.S. in economics at North Carolina Central University.

Tom Kilby (Yadkin County) – Kilby is the Piedmont juvenile court area administrator for NCDPS. He was a juvenile court chief court counselor, and a juvenile court counselor. He received a B.S. in criminal justice from Appalachian State University.

Evonne Moore (Richmond County) – Moore is the school social worker for Richmond County schools. She has been a social worker for 27 years and worked within the school system for 24 years. She received a B.A. in social work from UNC-Pembroke. She received a degree in Human Services from Garner Webb. She received a master’s degree in school social work from Fayetteville State University. She is currently in school to become a clinical social worker.

Karin Evanoff (Wake County) – Evanoff is a community registered nurse. She served on the Wake County Safer Schools Task Force created by the Wake County Board of Education. Currently, she works with the Wake County Public School System planners and architects on plans to bring Athens Drive High School campus up to ADA and safety standards. She received a criminal justice degree from the University of Delaware and a nursing degree from Watts School of Nursing.

James MacCallum (Brunswick County) – MacCallum will serve as vice chairman of the Board. He is the Brunswick County clerk of superior court. Previously, he ran his own law firm, the Law Office of James J. MacCallum. He was recognized as the Brunswick County Chamber of Commerce Citizen of the Year in 2010 and was the past chairman of the Board of Communities in Schools. MacCallum received a political science degree from Marshall University, a master’s degree in political science from Marshall University and a J.D. from West Virginia University.

Dr. Ben Matthews (New Hanover County) – Dr. Matthews is the director of Safe and Healthy School Support at the Department of Public Instruction. He received a master’s degree from UNC-Greensboro and a Ph.D from UNC-Chapel Hill.


Comment on this Story

Related News