Feight and Jordan claim top honors at UNCW athletic awards banquet


WILMINGTON, NC (COURTESY UNCWSPORTS.COM) —┬áJunior All-America baseball player Nick Feight and senior softball pitcher Peyton Jordan received the Thomas V. Moseley Awards as UNCW’s top student-athletes for 2016-17 during the Athletic Awards Banquet on Monday night at the Burney Center.

Senior outfielder Robbie Thorburn of the baseball team was named as the male recipient of the Chancellor’s Cup. Senior infielder Lauren Moore of the softball team was the female honoree of the award.

- Advertisement -

Senior Kathryn Ostrom of the women’s swimming and diving team and junior Julio Moncada of the men’s soccer team earned the Soaring Seahawk Award. Ostrom was also named as the winner of the Pat Howey Outstanding Student-Athlete Leadership Award.

The softball team, off to a record-setting start, claimed the Team Leadership Award and the SAAC Spirit and Pride Award. Bill Rudisill, a longtime member of the Seahawk Club, received the William J. Brooks Distinguished Service Award.