Hammerheads release 2012 soccer schedule
harrisburg.JPG

WILMINGTON,NC (news release) -- The Wilmington Hammerheads are thrilled to announce the release of their 2012 regular season alignment and schedule. The Hammerheads are set to kick off their season on Sunday, April 15, at Orlando City followed by the home-opener Saturday, April 21, against Harrisburg City Islanders at Legion Stadium.

USL PRO, which enjoyed a tremendous amount of success both on and off the pitch in 2011, will feature 11 teams playing in a single-table format in 2012. The 2012 USL PRO Table includes Antigua Barracuda FC, Charleston Battery, Charlotte Eagles, Dayton Dutch Lions, Harrisburg City Islanders, Los Angeles Blues, Orlando City Lions, Pittsburgh Riverhounds, Richmond Kickers, Rochester Rhinos, and Wilmington Hammerheads.

The Wilmington Hammerheads’ 2012 regular season schedule:

Wilmington @ Orlando Sunday, April 15, 2012
Wilmington vs. Harrisburg Saturday, April 21, 2012
Wilmington vs. Pittsburgh Saturday, April 28, 2012
Wilmington vs. Antigua Wednesday, May 02, 2012
Wilmington @ LA Friday, May 04, 2012
Wilmington @ LA Sunday, May 06, 2012
Wilmington vs. Charlotte Saturday, May 19, 2012
Wilmington @ Richmond Saturday, May 26, 2012
Wilmington vs. Orlando Saturday, June 02, 2012
Wilmington @ Rochester Friday, June 08, 2012
Wilmington @ Harrisburg Saturday, June 09, 2012
Wilmington vs. Richmond Friday, June 15, 2012
Wilmington @ Pittsburgh Friday, June 22, 2012
Wilmington @ Dayton Saturday, June 23, 2012
Wilmington vs. LA Saturday, June 30, 2012
Wilmington vs. Richmond Saturday, July 07, 2012
Wilmington vs. Rochester Thursday, July 12, 2012
Wilmington @ Charleston Saturday, July 14, 2012
Wilmington vs. Dayton Friday, July 20, 2012
Wilmington @ Charlotte Saturday, July 21, 2012
Wilmington @ Orlando Wednesday, July 25, 2012
Wilmington @ Charleston Friday, August 03, 2012
Wilmington vs. Charleston Saturday, August 04, 2012
Wilmington vs. Charlotte Saturday, August 18, 2012

All of the Hammerheads’ games, with the exception of Wednesday, May 2, kick-off at 7:30 p.m. The Wednesday, May 2, match against Antigua Barracuda FC is a 7 p.m. start. “Our first game is going to be tough but a good test against the reigning champions at their home field,” said Hammerheads midfielder Paul Nicholson. “Fortunately we have three home games after that which should show us how we will stack up against the 2012
competition. Overall, I think it’s going to be a tough schedule but one that we are definitely looking forward to as we hope to emulate our performance last year and go even further this year,” said Nicholson.

The Hammerheads will once again play 24 games in the 2012 season, 12 on their home turf and 12 away. The USL PRO Playoffs will include the top six finishers in the table, with the No. 1 and No. 2 seeds receiving a first-round bye the weekend of August 24-26. The semifinals featuring the four remaining teams will be played the following weekend,with the 2012 USL PRO Championship set for the weekend of September 7-9. “We’re excited to announce the 2012 schedule and although it is later than anticipated we are very pleased that everything is finalized. This announcement takes us one step closer to our first game of the season on April 15th,” said Irving of the schedule release.

Hammerheads season tickets and individual tickets for 2012 games are available at wilmingtonhammerheads.com or call the Hammerheads office at 910-777-2111 ext. 16.

Disclaimer: Comments posted on this, or any story are opinions of those people posting them, and not the views or opinions of WWAY NewsChannel 3, its management or employees. You can view our comment policy here.