2017 YWCA Women of Achievement nominees announced

WILMINGTON, NC (WWAY) – The YWCA Lower Cape Fear has announced the 2017 nominees for its annual Women of Achievement Awards. Among the nominees is WWAY’s very own Amanda Fitzpatrick.

According to a press release, the 55 nominees have demonstrated excellence, accomplishment, and commitment in their careers, schools, and communities.

The women will be recognized on May 4 at the Wilmington Convention Center.  The doors will open for a “social hour” at 5 p.m., and the awards ceremony will begin at 6 p.m.

Event tickets are $65 per person, and can be purchased online at ywca-lowercapefear.org or by phone at (910) 799-6820 before April 21.

Adult nominees are separated into nine categories: Arts, Business, Education, Environmental, Health and Wellness, Public Service, Volunteer, Social Justice and Rachel Freeman Unsung Hero.

High school nominees are recognized in the Young Leader category, and three winning students will receive a $1,000 scholarship.

The press release states that the event raises key support for the YWCA’s programs and services that promote racial justice and gender equality for thousands of women and their families in southeastern North Carolina.

Below is the complete list of nominees.

Adult nominees:

Amanda Fitzpatrick

Amy Wright

Angela Ives

Annha Britt

Becki Fernandez

Candy Ashton

Carolyn James

Catherine R. Nesbit

Celine Adair

Charlotte Kelly

Charmaine Lewis

Dawn Gual

Diane Emerson

Demetrice Keith

Edith Skipper

Dru Harrison

Emily Jones

Emma Curry Saunders

Fran Kertesz

Jana Jones Halls

Janna Siegel Robertson

Jennifer Harjo

Jennifer Saphara

Julia Ware

Kathy Bundy and Lee Ann Cook

Kelly R. Wells

Kim Moses

Kimberly McLaughlin-Smith

Kristen Jeno

Kristen McKeithan

Laura Heidel

Laura K. Hunter

Linda Rawley Thompson

Natalie Hinton-Stalling

Ruth Glaser

Sabrina Hill-Black

Sylvia Orrell Stoudenmire

Stephania Bloodworth

Terry Espy and Velva Jenkins.

Young Leader nominees include:

Alexandra Erling

Alexandria Augi

Autumn James

Alyssa Delts

Erin Coon

Hannah Freas

Hannah Manning

Kendall Hanks

Lillian Bailey Wright

Lilly Kays

Mariam Kharbat

Megan Haase

Mina Yakubu

Nicole McLean

Shay Webb.

Categories: Community

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *