Brunswick, Pender added to disaster declaration; New Hanover denied


RALEIGH, NC (NEWS RELEASE) -– Gov. Bev Perdue today received a major disaster declaration from the Federal Emergency Management Agency for four additional counties that suffered flood damage earlier this month.

Storm survivors in Brunswick, Jones, Pender and Pitt counties could be eligible for federal low-interest loans or grants to help them repair their homes and replace some personal belongings.

“People need help cleaning, repairing and rebuilding their homes and lives,” Gov. Perdue said. “This financial assistance is a blessing for so many families at a very difficult time.”

County, state and federal emergency management teams spent the first week of this month assessing damages to hundreds of homes and dozens of businesses in 26 counties. Last week, FEMA approved a disaster declaration for Beaufort, Bertie, Craven, Hertford, Onslow and Tyrrell counties.

Disaster recovery centers are now open in Washington, Windsor, New Bern, Winton, Jacksonville and Columbia. Federal and state emergency management officials are available daily from 8:30 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. to meet with storm victims and help them complete loan applications. By Monday evening, state and federal officials had met with 220 families and 60 business owners and taken more than 750 applications for assistance.

Residents in all 10 declared counties may be eligible for help from FEMA; they do not have to wait for a decision from their insurance company. Many people will find they are underinsured after a storm. To apply for federal financial assistance, storm survivors can:

1. Apply online at;
2. Call 800-621-FEMA (3362); or
3. Visit the disaster recovery center in their county.

Details about disaster recovery centers for Brunswick, Jones, Pender and Pitt counties will be made available as soon as they are finalized.

Homeowners may receive up to $240,000 to repair or replace their homes and some personal belongings while renters could receive up to $40,000. Any who don’t qualify for loans may be eligible for an individual assistance grant from FEMA to help repair and replace personal property.

On Friday, the governor requested a major disaster declaration for eight more counties. Federal officials denied the request for Camden, Martin, New Hanover and Washington counties explaining that those areas did not meet the minimal damage threshold. Gov. Perdue asked NC Emergency Management officials to work closely with FEMA to submit an appeal for the non-declared counties.

Categories: Brunswick

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *