New Hanover County Schools announces 2012 Science Fair winners

WILMINGTON, NC (NEWS RELEASE) — The New Hanover County Science Fair was held on Thursday, January 26, 2012 on the campus of Murray Middle School. Nearly two hundred students in grades 3-12 participated. Among the event judges were representatives from Old River Farms, Cape Fear Museum, Airlie Gardens, the Cape Fear River Watch, the New Hanover County Soil and Water Conservation District, University of North Carolina-Wilmington (UNCW), and the City of Wilmington Storm Water Services.

Several projects in each category will represent New Hanover County Schools at the Southeast Regional Science Fair to be held on February 11, 2012 on the campus of UNCW.

(*indicates selected for regional competition)

Elementary School Winners

Nina Hahn, Murrayville*

Elizabeth Kinsey, Anderson*

Layth Mansour, Sunset Park*

Caleb Marshall, Castle Hayne*

Caitlin Parrish, Blair*

Gavin Sokolinsky, Pine Valley*

Aeris Tinkler and Khalia Murray, Freeman School of Engineering*

Elyssa Hall, Codington*

Kendall Shaw, Wrightsboro*

Holland Baynard, Bradley Creek

Summer Marshburn-Teneyck, Gregory School of Math and Science

Maeson Morgan, Bellamy

Colby Styers, Codington

Daton West, Pine Valley

Nicholas Hildreth, College Park

Eric Powers, Pine Valley

Andrew Wise and William Caglarcan, Eaton

John Gizdic and Shaun Gizdic, Parsley

Scott Hightower, Pine Valley

Sandro Pantano, Ogden

Middle School Winners

Biological Science

1st- Dane Scull, Roland-Grise *

2nd- Savannah Clary, Noble*

3rd- Macy Austin, Trask

Physical Science

1st- Noelle Hoehn, Trask*

2nd- Mackenzie Williams and Emma Nelson, Murray*

3rd- Finn Sweetz, Murray

Earth Science

1st- Nathan Kinsey, Murray*

2nd- Lindsey Williams, Myrtle Grove*

3rd- Sam Scarborough and Jacob Harris, Holly Shelter


1st- Drew Cummings, Holly Shelter*

2nd- Eli Wilson and Scott Perry, Noble

3rd- Ryan Dunwoody, Holly Shelter

High School Winners

Biological Science

1st- Re’Onna Crawford and Talpha Everette, Isaac Bear Early College*

2nd- Garrett Leatherwood, Isaac Bear Early College*

3rd- Eli Myer, Isaac Bear Early College

Physical Science

1st- Brittany Williams, Laney*

2nd- Kevin Frink, Isaac Bear Early College*

3rd- Marissa Morrison and Erika Brigantti, Isaac Bear Early College

Earth Science

1st- Matthew Stanbury and Christine Chow, Isaac Bear Early College*

2nd- Casey Wenner- Isaac Bear Early College

3rd- Brooke Hoehn- Isaac Bear Early College


1st- Richard Everhart, Isaac Bear Early College*

2nd- Anna Dyches, Isaac Bear Early College

In addition to the winners, Chloe O’Briant, Parsley Elementary, and Emma Bingham and Quinton Juliano, Isaac Bear, were also chosen to represent NHCS at the regional level.

Several students received special awards by local businesses for their outstanding projects. The award recipients include:

· Nathan Kinsey, Murray Elementary School, Airlie Gardens Award

· Taylor McMillon, Parsley Elementary, Cape Fear Museum Award

· Elizabeth Kinsey, Anderson Elementary, Cape Fear Museum Award

· Lindsey Williams, Myrtle Grove Middle, New Hanover County Soil & Water Conservation District Award

Categories: New Hanover

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *