Newest member of the New Hanover County School Board

The New Hanover County School Board welcomed its newest member Tuesday night. With her family by her side, Elizabeth Redenbaugh was sworn in as New Hanover County’s newest school board member. "I’m just interested in rolling up my sleeves and just really working hard for our community," she Redenbaugh. Tuesday’s swearing in came on the heels of a redistricting decision that did not satisfy everyone, including Redenbaugh. "I’m not pleased with the redistricting system. I would have loved to have been able to put some input there, but I’m sure that will be an option down the road,” she said. Two other board members took their oaths again. Jeannette Nichols will serve her third term and Dorothy DeShields will serve her second. She wants to see New Hanover County become the best school system in southeastern North Carolina. "We just have to work a little smarter and make sure that our children get the best education possible," said DeShields. There was also a change in leadership at Tuesday’s meeting. Former chairman, Don Hayes, did not hesitate to give his seat to Ed Higgins, who was nominated by his fellow board members. Nichols was re-elected as the board’s vice chair. With everyone settled in to their new seats, it is now time to move forward. “Whether a parent has a child who’s a gifted student or a special needs student or an average student, I’d like to see excellence across the board in all of our schools," Redenbaugh said.

Categories: New Hanover

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *