UNC’s Hansbrough named to second team AP-All America

NEW YORK (AP) — North Carolina forward Tyler Hansbrough has been named to The Associated Press All-America second team.

Hansbrough, a sophomore who was a pre-season pick for the first team, is joined by seniors Nick Fazekas of Nevada and Jared Dudley of Boston College, and juniors Chris Lofton of Tennessee and Joakim Noah of Florida.

The Atlantic Coast Conference is represented on the third team with senior Al Thornton of Florida State. Also with Thornton are seniors Aaron Brooks of Oregon and Aaron Gray of Pittsburgh and juniors Jeff Green of Georgetown and Al Horford of Florida.

Kevin Durant of Texas and Greg Oden of Ohio State are the first freshmen named to the AP All-America team since 1990. Durant was a unanimous pick of the 72-member national media panel that selects the weekly Top 25.

Since freshmen became eligible to play in 1972, the only freshmen chosen to the first team were Wayman Tisdale of Oklahoma in 1983 and Chris Jackson of LSU in 1990.

(Copyright 2007 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *