All-ACC Football Team is out

GREENSBORO, NC (THEACC.COM)  — Clemson, which is set to defend its Atlantic Coast Conference championship later this week, leads all schools with 15 selections to the 2016 All-ACC Football Teams, as voted upon by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association (ACSMA).

The Atlantic Division co-champion Tigers placed nine members on the All-ACC first team (five offense, four defense).

Coastal Division champion Virginia Tech, which will face the Tigers in Saturday night’s Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game in Orlando, had nine total players chosen, as did Atlantic Division co-champion Louisville.

Forty-eight ACSMA members cast ballots for the 2016 All-ACC Football Teams, with three points awarded for each first-team vote, two points for each second-team vote and one point for each third-team selection.

Florida State junior Dalvin Cook, the ACC’s rushing leader with 1,620 yards, leads the overall voting with 139 points. He is joined on the first team by Louisville sophomore quarterback Lamar Jackson, who leads the conference in total offense with 410.7 yards per game and set a conference record for touchdown responsibility with 51 (30 passing, 21 rushing).

Rounding out the first-team backfield is Pitt running back James Conner, the 2014 ACC Player of the Year, who battled back from a bout with cancer and a knee injury to re-establish himself as one of college football’s elite players. The first-team receiving trio of Clemson’s Mike Williams, Syracuse’s Amba Etta-Tawo and North Carolina’s Ryan Switzer have combined for 264 receptions, 29 touchdowns and more than 3,600 receiving yards.

Also featured on the offensive first team are two-time ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy winner Roderick Johnson of Florida State and Clemson tight end Jordan Leggett. The Tigers’ presence is felt across the front line with center Jay Guillermo, tackle Mitch Hyatt and guard Tyrone Crowder all earning first-team selections. They are joined by Pitt guard Dorian Johnson.

Clemson linebacker Ben Boulware, who helps anchor a Tigers’ unit that has allowed just 17 points and a shade over 300 yards per game, leads the All-ACC defensive first-team voting. He is joined by defensive ends DeMarcus Walker of Florida State and Ejuan Price of Pitt; tackles Carlos Watkins of Clemson and Woody Baron of Virginia Tech, and fellow linebackers Micah Kiser of Virginia and Devonte Fields of Louisville.

A pair of Clemson seniors earned first-team spots in the secondary, with Cordrea Tankersley manning one cornerback position and Jadar Johnson chosen at safety. They are joined by Virginia junior safety Quin Blanding and Florida State sophomore cornerback Tavarus McFadden.

Virginia’s Kiser (11.2 per game) and Blanding (10.0) lead the ACC in total tackles. Florida State’s Walker shares the NCAA FBS lead in quarterback sacks with Boston College’s Harold Landry with 15, and Pitt’s Price has 12 to his credit. Price also leads the ACC with 21 total tackles for loss. McFadden’s eight interceptions lead the conference.

Wake Forest kicker Mike Weaver, Pitt explosive returner Quadree Henderson and Virginia punter Nicholas Conte complete the All-ACC first team.

The 2016 ACSMA All-ACC Football Team:



WR Mike Williams R-Jr. Clemson 131 pts
WR Amba Etta-Tawo R-Sr. Syracuse 125
WR Ryan Switzer Sr. North Carolina 107
TE Jordan Leggett Sr. Clemson 95
T Roderick Johnson Jr. Florida State 118
T Mitch Hyatt So. Clemson 104
G Tyrone Crowder R-Jr. Clemson 104
G Dorian Johnson Sr. Pittsburgh 88
C Jay Guillermo R-Sr. Clemson 86
QB Lamar Jackson So. Louisville 125
RB Dalvin Cook Jr. Florida State 139
RB James Conner R-Jr. Pittsburgh 119
PK Mike Weaver R-Jr. Wake Forest 47
Sp. Quadree Henderson So. Pittsburgh 103



DE DeMarcus Walker Sr. Florida State 125
DE Ejuan Price R-Sr. Pittsburgh 107
DT Carlos Watkins R-Sr. Clemson 113
DT Woody Baron Sr. Virginia Tech 79
LB Ben Boulware Sr. Clemson 131
LB Micah Kiser Jr. Virginia 99
LB Devonte Fields Sr. Louisville 70
CB Tarvarus McFadden So. Florida State 113
CB Cordrea Tankersley Sr. Clemson 97
S Quin Blanding Jr. Virginia 100
S Jadar Johnson Sr. Clemson 94
P Nicholas Conte Sr. Virginia 118



WR Isaiah Ford Jr. Virginia Tech 103
WR Travis Rudolph Jr. Florida State 81
WR Ahmmon Richards Fr. Miami 50
TE Cole Hikutini Sr. Louisville 62
T Adam Bisnowaty R-Sr. Pittsburgh 88
T Jon Heck Sr. North Carolina 57
G Tony Adams Jr. NC State 54
G Kareem Are R-Sr. Florida State 54
C Lucas Crowley Sr. North Carolina 64
QB Deshaun Watson Jr. Clemson 102
RB Matthew Dayes Sr. NC State 79
RB Wayne Gallman R-Jr. Clemson 73
PK Greg Huegel R-So. Clemson 39
Sp. T.J. Logan Sr. North Carolina 57



DE Harold Landry Jr. Boston College 92
DE Christian Wilkins So. Clemson 72
DT Dexter Lawrence Fr. Clemson 67
DT DeAngelo Brown Sr. Louisville 66
LB Marquel Lee Sr. Wake Forest 64
LB Keith Kelsey Sr. Louisville 56
LB Tremaine Edmunds So. Virginia Tech 47
CB Jaire Alexander So. Louisville 80
CB Corn Elder Sr. Miami 53
S Jordan Whitehead So. Pittsburgh 54
S Jessie Bates Fr. Wake Forest 42
P Justin Vogel Sr. Miami 78



WR Artavis Scott Jr. Clemson 46
WR James Quick Sr. Louisville 44
WR Stacy Coley Sr. Miami 30
TE Bucky Hodges R-Jr. Virginia Tech 52
T Brian O’Neill R-So. Pittsburgh 35
T Jonathan McLaughlin Sr. Virginia Tech 33
G Augie Conte R-Sr. Virginia Tech 48
G Danny Isidora Sr. Miami 43
C Freddie Burden R-Sr. Georgia Tech 27
QB Mitch Trubisky Jr. North Carolina 29
RB Mark Walton So. Miami 59
RB Elijah Hood Jr. North Carolina 40
PK Joey Slye Jr. Virginia Tech 37
Sp. Brisly Estime Sr. Syracuse 32



DE Bradley Chubb Jr. NC State 64
DE Duke Ejiofor R-Jr. Wake Forest 37
DT Derrick Nnadi Jr. Florida State 65
DT Nazair Jones Jr. North Carolina 33
LB Ben Humphreys So. Duke 46
LB Andrew Motuapuaka R-Jr. Virginia Tech 41
LB Zaire Franklin Jr. Syracuse 40
CB Greg Stroman Jr. Virginia Tech 45
CB Breon Borders Sr. Duke 37
S Josh Harvey-Clemons Sr. Louisville 38
S Chucky Williams Jr. Louisville 34
P Sterling Hofrichter Fr.-R Syracuse 30



WR Ervin Philips Jr. Syracuse 29
WR Quadree Henderson So. Pittsburgh 22
WR Bug Howard Sr. North Carolina 20
TE Jaylen Samuels Jr. NC State 24
TE David Njoku R-So. Miami 22
T Geron Christian So. Louisville 31
G Wilson Bell R-Jr. Florida State 33
G Wyatt Teller R-Jr. Virginia Tech 23
G Khalil Hunter Sr. Louisville 21
C Alec Eberle R-So. Florida State 24
C Joe Scelfo Gr-Tfr. NC State 22
RB Taquan Mizzell Sr. Virginia 30
PK Harrison Butker Sr. Georgia Tech 34
PK Chris Blewitt Sr. Pittsburgh 34
PK Michael Badgley Jr. Miami 31
PK Ricky Aguayo Fr. Florida State 30
PK Nick Weiler Sr. North Carolina 27
Sp. Ryan Switzer Sr. North Carolina 26
Sp. Ray-Ray McCloud So. Clemson 20



DE Ken Ekanem Sr. Virginia Tech 25
DE James Hearns R-Jr. Louisville 22
DT Demarcus Christmas R-So. Florida State 25
DT Patrick Gamble R-Sr. Georgia Tech 23
DT Tyrique Jarrett Sr. Pittsburgh 21
LB Andre Smith So. North Carolina 37
LB Matt Milano Sr. Boston College 37
LB Kendall Joseph R-So. Clemson 32
LB Connor Strachan Jr. Boston College 31
LB Joe Giles-Harris Fr. Duke 25
LB Shaquille Quarterman R-Fr. Miami 24
LB Parris Bennett Jr. Syracuse 23
CB Marquez White Sr. Florida State 28
CB Des Lawrence Sr. North Carolina 27
CB M.J. Stewart Jr. North Carolina 24
S Josh Jones Jr. NC State 28
S Terrell Edmunds R-So. Virginia Tech 28
S Chuck Clark Sr. Virginia Tech 23
S Rayshawn Jenkins R-Sr. Miami 23
S Van Smith So. Clemson 21
P Dom Maggio Fr. Wake Forest 23
Categories: Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *