Laney & Lumberton in same conference? Trask & South Robeson? Topsail & Terry Sanford?

WILMINGTON,NC (WWAY) — The associate commissioner of the North Carolina High School Athletic Association is a busy man this week. He’s having to field loads of emails and phone calls from athletic directors about future re-alignment. Rick Strunk sent WWAY the following email on Wednesday.

“We sent the initial draft of realignment to the schools today. It’s just a computer generated initial draft for discussion, with some meetings scheduled in January for discussion. SAS, the software company in Cary, developed the models based on the parameters we provided; six to eight schools in a conference, clustered geographically (they used a complicated mathematical formula) and then no split conferences in the initial draft.” Rick Strunk (NCHSAA)

Here are the new preliminary conference realignment models for schools in SE NC that could go into effect starting in the 2013-2014 high school athletic season.


Conference 15: Ashley, Hoggard, Laney, Lumberton, New Hanover, Purnell Swett.


Conference 14: Gray’s Creek, Terry Sanford, South Brunswick, Topsail, West Brunswick, Westover.


Conference 13: East Bladen, Fairmont, North Brunswick, Red Springs, South Columbus, St. Pauls, West Bladen.

Conference 14: Clinton, Croatan, Dixon, East Duplin, Northside, Southwest Onslow.


Conference 12: Hobbton, Neuse Charter, North Duplin, Princeton, Rosewood, Spring Creek.

Conference 13: Jones Senior, James Kenan, Lakewood, Lejeune, Union, Wallace-Rose Hill.

Conference 14: East Columbus, Pender, South Robeson, Trask, West Columbus, Whiteville.

Click below for a full list of possible conference re-alignments based on the computer model.

Categories: News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *