Recount could decide if Zapple or Hickey join Watkins on New Hanover Commission

NEW HANOVER COUNTY, NC (WWAY) — Republican Skip Watkins and Democrat Rob Zapple will join Woody White, Beth Dawson and Jonathan Barfield on the New Hanover County Commission, if the vote totals hold.

Watkins received the highest number of votes with 28 percent. Zapple, however was neck-and-neck with Republican Derrick Hickey. Both had 25 percent of the vote with just more than 200 votes dividing the two. Hickey could ask for a recount as the margin separating the two is less than one percent.

As Watkins and Zapple watched the results display at the New Hanover County Government Center Tuesday night, both admitted they have a lot to learn but say they are eager to hit the ground running and move the county forward.

The winners replace Republican Thomas Wolfe and Brian Berger on the commission.

Democrat Patricia Spear finished fourth.

Categories: New Hanover

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *