First and Second All-CPL Teams announced for 2017

WILMINGTON, NC ( — The Coastal Plain League is excited to announce the 2017 All-CPL First and Second teams. Each team features 24 players: one player per each infield position, four designated hitter/utility players, five outfielders, six starting pitchers and four relief pitchers.

The team is highlighted by CPL Hitter of the Year Evan Edwards of High Point-Thomasville, and Pitcher of the Year Zach Neff of the Fayetteville SwampDogs. Joining them are a number of standout talents, evident by eight CPL Players of the Week. Those include Alec Bivins (Forest City, Week 2), Christian Hollie (Savannah,week 3), Griffin McClarty (Fayetteville, Week 4), Zach Neff (Fayetteville, Week 5), Zachary Spivey (Lexington County, week 6), Breydan Gorham (Wilmington , Week 6), Noah Thompson (Gastonia, week 7), Seth Hoagland (Forest City, 10.)

Also making the team were multiple category leaders: batting average (Luke Morgan, .385), slugging percentage (Evan Edwards, .703), on-base percentage (, .474), runs scored (Billy Wilson, 58), hits (Luke Morgan, 70), runs batted in (Jayson Newman, 56), doubles (Zach Jacobs, 20), triples (Billy Wilson, 4), home runs (Drew Delsignore, 14), total bases (Billy Wilson, 115), earned run average (Jason Goe, 1.01), opposing batting average (Jason Goe, .171) batters struck out (Zach Neff, 65), innings pitched (Bryan Cruse, 63), wins (Zach Neff, 7) and saves (Carmen Giampetruzzi, 9).

Below is the complete list for both the First Team and Second Team postseason All-Stars:

First Team
C – Harris Yett (Gastonia / Charlotte)
1B – Evan Edwards (HP-Thomasville / NC State)
2B – Nick Podkul (Morehead City / Notre Dame)
3B – Mason McClellan (HP-Thomasville / Columbus State)
SS – Luke Morgan (Wilmington / College of Charleston)
DH/UTL – Jayson Newman (Fayetteville / Cal St. Northridge)
DH/UTL – Seth Hoagland (Forset City / Iona)
DH/UTL – Matthew Pita (Savannah / Virginia Military)
DH/UTL – Drake McNamara (Peninsula / Southern Indiana)
OF – Billy Wilson (Edenton / Loyola Marymount)
OF – Justin Dean (Wilmington / Lenoir-Rhyne)
OF – Connor Grant (Forest City / North Greenville)
OF – Bryce Fischer (Savannah / Oklahoma State)
OF – Zachary Spivey (Lexington County / Bethune-Cookman)
SP – Zach Neff (Fayetteville / Austin Peay)
SP – Jason Goe (HP-Thomasville / Morehead State)
SP – Griffin McLarty (Fayetteville / College of Charleston)
SP – Devin Sweet (Asheboro / NC Central)
SP – Alec Bivins (Forest City / Mars Hill)
SP – Clay Young (HP-Thomasville / Catawba)
RP – Carmen Giampetruzzi (Edenton / Boston College)
RP – Collin Liberatore (Peninsula / Pittsburgh)
RP – Kaleb McCurry (Forest City / Mars Hill)
RP – Ben Gross (Holly Springs / Princeton)

Second Team
C – Peyton Isaacson (Holly Springs / Coastal Carolina)
1B – Zach Jacobs (Florence / Francis Marion)
2B – Christian Hollie (Savannah / UT-Arlington)
3B – Jonathan Embry (Peninsula / Liberty)
SS – Keaton Weisz (Martinsville / Coastal Carolina)
DH/UTL – Connor Kopach (Edenton / Southern Illinois)
DH/UTL – Chandler Corley (Morehead City / Armstrong State)
DH/UTL – Chaz Davey (Gastonia / Erskine)
DH/UTL – Drew Delsignore (Peninsula / Mercryhurst)
OF – Clark Brinkman (Asheboro / Creighton)
OF – Adam Sisk (Holly Springs / James Madison)
OF – Dawnoven Smith (Wilson / North Carolina A&T)
OF – Austin Edgette (Fayetteville / Bloomsburgh)
OF – Logan Mattix (Savannah / Georgia College)
SP – Colt Harlow (Peninsula / James Madison)
SP – Bryan Cruse (Savannah / Memphis)
SP – Nick Wegmann (Edenton / Binghamton)
SP – Noah Thompson (Gastonia / Seton Hall)
SP – Daniel Poidomani (Forest City / Stevens)
SP – Breydan Gorham (Wilmington / UNC Wilmington)
RP – Nick Silber (HP-Thomasville / Rice)
RP – Daniel Wiggins (Gastonia / USC-Aiken)
RP – Ryan Hedrick (Wilmington / Presbyterian)
RP – Ryan Lefner (Holly Springs / Saint Louis)

The Coastal Plain League is the nation’s premier summer collegiate baseball league. Set to begin its 22nd season in 2018, the CPL features 16 teams playing in Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia. The CPL has had over 1,400 alumni drafted and 108 of those – including 2011 AL MVP and Cy Young winner Justin Verlander – make their Major League debut; while another notable alum – Russell Wilson – won Super Bowl XLVIII. For more information on the Coastal Plain League, please visit the league website at and follow us via Twitter @CPLBaseball.

Categories: Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *